Ace Race 2007Kinston Ace Race 2009

When: Sat., September 19, 2009
Where: Barnet Park, Kinston, NC

For more information about the Ace Race series, click here...

The weather was perfect. We had 22 players packs at the start of the day, and none at the end of the day. 21 people played, which is a record turn-out for us. The official final results are listed below. This year's Ace Race discs have already been approved for PDGA tournament play, and are officially name the "Focus".

Ace Race Results...

Metal Hits
1 Kyle Hodnett 1 4
2 Kevin Gaskins 1 1
3 Joel Smith 1 0
4 Aaron MacArthur 1 0
5 Joe Noble 0 3
6 Bert Kirby 0 3
7 Kurt Hodnett 0 2
Joey Swaney 0 1
Bobby Cox 0 1
Devin Grady 0 1
Tony Grady 0 1
Jon Kremkau 0 1
John O’Dell 0 0
Brian Gilmette 0 0
Bryan Jackson 0 0
Forrest Griffith 0 0
Bill Thaxton 0 0
Aaron Dale 0 0
Lynne Marie Grady 0 0
Jay Clark 0 0
Christian Smith 0 0

Prizes were awarded to the top 7 places. Due to a scoring error, we ended up shuffling a few things. We also had a throw-off for what at the time was thought to be 5th place. This was not needed due to the scoring error, by Tony Grady won the throw-off and was awarded a 2008 Ace Race disc anyway. Bert Kirby and Joe Noble were tied, but Bert left at the end of play, so Joe was awarded the 5th place and Bert 6th place. Joel Smith and Aaron MacArthur threw off for a tie to determine 3rd and 4th places. Joel hit the basket to win the tie. As tournament director, Joel would like to apologize for any confusion his scoring mistake caused. We hope everyone had a great time and want to thank everyone for coming out to make this our biggest Ace Race yet.

Doubles after the Ace Race...

Doubles Random Draw Team Results...

Place Team Score


Joey Swaney / Aaron MacArthur 47
2 Bill Thaxton / Joel Smith 48
3 Tony Grady / Kyle Hodnett 49
4 Kurt Hodnett / Aaron Dale 52
5 Brandi Woods / Christian Smith 55
5 Inez Dale / Robert Borjes 55

No one hit an ace, so we had a throw-off for it on hole #19. Bill Thaxton won with the closest throw to the basket.

Photos from this year's Ace Race...